Skip to content

17

February 10, 2017
tags: ,

  • “I wouldn’t have reached this position if it hasn’t been for you.” (A person who just got promoted following my advice on taking up a degree in tertiary education);
  • “Thanks to you, now I have the skills that I’m using to improve myself.” (A person who joined a training I organized many years ago and applied the skills in actual work);
  • “Would you give me a reference? I’m applying for this job.” (A former team member, applying for position that is better than mine);
  • “That is a really good advice. Thank you.” (A former colleague).

Apart from those expressions of thank-yous and gesture of respect from fellow colleagues, what made my day today comes surprisingly unannounced:

“You are in my top 10 of best hires I made.” – A former employer.

I think when the going gets tough, I shall remember that I made that cut, no matter how big or small the size and ranks of the “best hires”. For me, it’s always the trust that matters.

To anybody who’s interested in aid industry, the world is your oyster. Go get ’em, Tiger!

Image source: https://www.pinterest.com/robyn6667/17/

No comments yet

Leave a comment